ITC Conference Grants

A call for ITC Conference Grants will be open from the 1st of December to the 8th of January 2024, for conferences held before the 31st of March 2024.

What are ITC Conference Grants?

ITC Conference Grants are grants supporting Young Researchers and Innovators1 whose institution is in a Inclusiveness Target Country2 (ITC) to attend conferences on the topic of the Action that are not organised by the COST Action.

A synthesis of ITC conference grants rules is found here. More information can be found in Annex 2 of the Annotated rules for COST Actions.

How to Apply?

Applications for ITC Conference Grants are first submitted on the e-COST website You may find here the documents to be uploaded on e-COST.

The following documents must also be e-mailed to the ITC Conference grant responsible, Prof. Sérgio Matos (
– document generated by e-COST,
– a CV, including a list of academic publications if applicable,
– acceptance letter from the conference organizers (confirming either your speaking slot or your poster presentation),
– a copy of the abstract or poster submitted to the conference.
Applicants must be eligible (see Annex 2 of the Annotated rules for COST Actions) and the papers/poster submitted to the conference must be in line with the Action scientific objectives.

The applications will be ranked by the ITC Conference grant responsible together with the WG leaders based on
– scientific quality of the paper/poster accepted at the conference
– CV of the applicant
– benefit to the development of the COST Action
The selection will follow COST policies on gender inclusiveness and geographical balance.
The final ranking will be approved by the Action Chair and Co-Chair.

The researchers who applied to the call will receive the results of the selection from the ITC Conference grant responsible. The selected researchers should wait for the official invitation from the Grant Holder before booking any travel arrangements and paying conference fees.
The selected researchers will have to acknowledge the COST Action in their final contribution to the conference.

1 Researchers or innovators under the age of 40.

2 ITC full-member that are EU Member States: Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia. EU Member States Outermost Regions: French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Reunion Island and Saint-Martin (France), Azores and Madeira (Portugal), and the Canary Islands (Spain). ITC full-member that are not EU Member States: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Turkey. The lists are available in the “Country and organisations table”.